The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper

The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
&#34Phaedra Patrick understands the soul. Eccentric, charming, and wise&#133The Curious Charms is not just for those who are mourning over love or the past. This book will illuminate your heart.&#34 &#151 Nina George, New York Times bestselling author of The Little Paris Bookshop &#34Tender, insightful, and surprising&#133 [Arthur Pepper] will instantly capture the hearts of readers who loved Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, Nina George's The Little Paris Bookshop, and Antoine Laurain's The Red Notebook.&#34 &#151 Library Journal, starred review In this poignant and curiously charming debut, a lovable widower embarks on a life-changing adventure Sixty-nine-year-old Arthur Pepper lives a simple life. He gets out of bed at precisely 7:30 a.m., just as he did when his wife, Miriam, was alive. He dresses in the same gray slacks and mustard sweater vest, waters his...
Publisher: 2016.
ISBN: 9781459293908
Branch Call Number: eBook OverDrive
Characteristics: 1 downloadable ebook

Related Resources


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Mar 17, 2018

Arthur Pepper is stagnant after the death of his wife, until he discovers a charm bracelet in her closet that he doesn’t recognize. Each of the charms leads him on a journey to discover more about his wife’s past that he didn’t know and inspires him to live again. A charming story of grief, regret, and ultimately finding a way to live again. If you’re looking for a heartwarming read featuring a good-natured grump, this one might suit.

Jan 17, 2018

I was not really charmed nor very curious while reading this book. The novel felt like a less well done version of "A Man Called Ove." A bit gimmicky, and the characters' transformations felt unearned.

Jan 16, 2018

Loved it

Dec 02, 2017

Very enjoyable book. Fairly fast read. Characters were memorable. Highly recommend the book.

Oct 25, 2017

A lovely glimpse into the power grief, how it shapes, molds and determines choices:
the story line: simple, a found charm bracelet representing a hidden past-how the search for answers of that past led to a happy future, reconciliation, a new life filled with hope and promise

AL_CYNTHIA Sep 19, 2017

How does the charm bracelet of his deceased wife help heal Arthur Pepper? Join him on his very human adventure of grief, loss, and love. Would make an excellent read-alike for those who enjoyed A Man Called Ove.

Jul 18, 2017

I love love this book. I really enjoyed it.

May 08, 2017

For me this one was way too trite to finish reading. I couldn't buy into the main character's behavior or attitudes and, honestly, there are so many books out there right now about doddering oldsters wandering around various countrysides, following wayward whims of their own making, that are so much better written. It felt like this author was taking advantage of the popularity of the genre without actually building an original story or group of characters.

Oct 22, 2016

I enjoyed this one although it was a bit slow-moving in places. Similar to The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry.

Sep 21, 2016

Another "charming" story that will appeal to those who liked A Man Called Ove. It is very light and entertaining reading.

View All Comments


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further



Find it at TSCPL

To Top