The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper

The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
23
&#34Phaedra Patrick understands the soul. Eccentric, charming, and wise&#133The Curious Charms is not just for those who are mourning over love or the past. This book will illuminate your heart.&#34 &#151 Nina George, New York Times bestselling author of The Little Paris Bookshop &#34Tender, insightful, and surprising&#133 [Arthur Pepper] will instantly capture the hearts of readers who loved Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, Nina George's The Little Paris Bookshop, and Antoine Laurain's The Red Notebook.&#34 &#151 Library Journal, starred review In this poignant and curiously charming debut, a lovable widower embarks on a life-changing adventure Sixty-nine-year-old Arthur Pepper lives a simple life. He gets out of bed at precisely 7:30 a.m., just as he did when his wife, Miriam, was alive. He dresses in the same gray slacks and mustard sweater vest, waters his...
Publisher: 2016.
ISBN: 9781459293908
Branch Call Number: eBook OverDrive
Characteristics: 1 downloadable ebook

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

GardenHome_HeatherW Oct 09, 2018

Reminiscent of "The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Frye". Enjoyable, easy to read while traveling book.

ylpladults Aug 23, 2018

Poor Arthur Pepper has been a widow for a year. Now it’s time to get rid of his wife’s things. While doing this, he finds a charm bracelet he’s never seen before. Arthur decides to research the charms and find out more about his wife’s life before they met. This was a charming (pun intended) novel. Arthur grows as a character and I rooted for him as he researched the charms and his world expanded.

l
LibraryLES
Aug 01, 2018

I wanted to like this book more than I did, it just seemed to drag and confused me at times.

SCL_Heather Jul 11, 2018

When Arthur Pepper decides to clean out his wife's things on the first anniversary of her death, he discovers that he may not have known everything about her. He sets off on a journey to learn about her past and, in doing so, discovers more about himself. An utterly charming story about coping with loss, finding yourself and understanding love.

robertafsmith May 02, 2018

Roberta's pick: This is a sweet read about coping with bereavement after a lifelong marriage, (one in which you had thought you knew everything there was to know about your partner). Arthur Pepper finds out more than he ever knew about his late wife when he explores the charms on a bracelet he discovers a year after her death. You will forgive it the predictability of its structure because it is a kind book and a heart-warming read.

l
lola_jane
Mar 17, 2018

Arthur Pepper is stagnant after the death of his wife, until he discovers a charm bracelet in her closet that he doesn’t recognize. Each of the charms leads him on a journey to discover more about his wife’s past that he didn’t know and inspires him to live again. A charming story of grief, regret, and ultimately finding a way to live again. If you’re looking for a heartwarming read featuring a good-natured grump, this one might suit.

l
LZLibrary
Jan 17, 2018

I was not really charmed nor very curious while reading this book. The novel felt like a less well done version of "A Man Called Ove." A bit gimmicky, and the characters' transformations felt unearned.

a
astraker
Jan 16, 2018

Loved it

k
kkirby221
Dec 02, 2017

Very enjoyable book. Fairly fast read. Characters were memorable. Highly recommend the book.

f
FoxLarkin
Oct 25, 2017

A lovely glimpse into the power grief, how it shapes, molds and determines choices:
the story line: simple, a found charm bracelet representing a hidden past-how the search for answers of that past led to a happy future, reconciliation, a new life filled with hope and promise

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

  Loading...

Find it at TSCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top