The Last Telegram

The Last Telegram

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
5
Rate this:

"Trenow's first novel chronicles civilian life in England during the terrors of war while also weaving a beautifully moving love story. Reminiscent in tone and subject of Nicholas Spark's The Notebook (1996) and Ian McEwan's Atonement(2002), Lily's tale will resonate with fans of each."-BooklistOnline.com

We all make mistakes. Some we can fix.
But what happens when we can't?

Decades ago, as Nazi planes dominated the sky, Lily Verner made a terrible choice. She's tried to forget, but now an unexpected event pulls her back to the 1940s British countryside. She finds herself remembering the brilliant colors of the silk she helped to weave at her family's mill, the relentless pressure of the worsening war, and the kind of heartbreaking loss that stops time.

In this evocative novel of love and consequences, Lily finally confronts the disastrous decision that has haunted her all these years. The Last Telegram uncovers the surprising truth about how the stories we weave about our lives are threaded with truth, guilt, and forgiveness.

"Sparked my interest from the start...charming."-Sharon Knoth, Between the Covers, Harbor Springs, MI

"This book will easily appeal to fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, and I can see it quickly becoming a favorite of book clubs."-Billie Bloebaum, Powell's Books

Publisher: Naperville, Illinois : Sourcebooks Landmark, c2013.
ISBN: 9781402279454
1402279450
Branch Call Number: TRENOW L
Characteristics: 405 p. ; 21 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

AL_KATI Nov 06, 2016

Tears. So many tears. This book blew me away. Everyone I know has loved this.

m
merry744
Jul 30, 2015

This is such a good book. I am going to recommend it for my book club next month.

s
Starbuckgal
Jan 10, 2015

Excellent historical read about events in WWll and the manufacturing of silk used in the parachutes for our troops. A solid love story that captures the reader from beginning to end.

romita84 Oct 24, 2013

Truly beautiful. Heart breaking. I loved it.

b
Buddy12
Aug 21, 2013

My favourite read of the summer. Couldn't put it down, just a pleasure to read.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at TSCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top