Later Poems

Later Poems

Selected and New, 1971-2012

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
Rate this:
In Later Poems: Selected and New 1971-2012, the strong trajectory of the work of one of the most important artists of American letters is on display. This volume brings together a remarkable body of work. Included are Adrienne Rich's own selections from twelve volumes of published works, including the National Book Award-winning Diving Into the Wreck, An Atlas of the Difficult World, and her most recent volume, Tonight No Poetry Will Serve, along with ten powerful new poems, previously uncollected. Among these, "From Strata" is a kind of archaeology of the present day; "Itinerary" searches for an "indefinite future" in a menaced landscape; "For the Young Anarchists" offers a trope of skilled labor for political action; and the haunting voice of "Teethsucking Bird" reminds us of what we have been told to forget. This collection testifies to a monumental career that distinguished American literature in the late twentieth century and will continue to inspire readers for years to come.
Publisher: New York, N.Y. : W.W. Norton & Co., c2013.
Edition: 1st ed.
ISBN: 9780393089561
Branch Call Number: 811.54 RIC
Characteristics: xiii, 530 p. ; 25 cm.


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
Jul 06, 2016

Adrienne Rich was a skilled and sensitive poet who has been overshadowed in history a bit by contemporaries such as Plath, Sexton, Lorde...

I ordered a copy to own.

Apr 15, 2016

Poetry that exceeds poetry. I am in awe of her powerful reach into the use of words.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at TSCPL

To Top