Shooting Victoria

Shooting Victoria

Madness, Mayhem, and the Rebirth of the British Monarchy

Book - 2012
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:
From a hunchbacked dwarf to a paranoid poet assassin, a history of Victorian England as seen through the numerous assassination attempts on Queen Victoria.
Publisher: New York : Pegasus Books, 2012.
Edition: 1st Pegasus Books cloth ed.
ISBN: 9781605983547
1605983543
Branch Call Number: 941.081 MUR
Characteristics: xi, 669 p., [16] p. of plates : ill. (some col.) ; 24 cm.

Opinion

From Library Staff

Did you know that Queen Victoria survived numerous assassination attempts? This book relates the history behind those that tried to murder the popular monarch.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

c
CraigRuane
Jul 29, 2015

An interesting but ultimately unsatisfying book. The style (breezy) is at odds with the topic. Murphy views the 19th century, and Britain's monarchy, through 21st century eyes. What was most annoying though was the use of Clayton's end notes. The end notes that aren't referenced in the text, and in the notes themselves are only referenced by a page number. If you are going to go to the bother of including notes, DO IT PROPERLY.

This seems to be the fashion in US published semi academic works.

ChristchurchLib Dec 04, 2014

Queen Victoria inherited a crown that had been thoroughly tarnished by her predecessors' incompetence and immorality, but by the time of her death 64 years later, the monarchy was almost universally adored. Author Paul Murphy believes that seven attempts to assassinate Victoria boosted the queen's popularity with her subjects and helped her to strengthen the monarchy. Shooting Victoria focuses on the men who tried to kill her, their motives, and their convictions and punishments. It also details changes in criminal law and police administration while describing Victoria's relationships with her prime ministers. This intriguing approach to Victoria's life and times (a New York Times Notable Book for 2012) will please readers who enjoyed Helen Rappaport's A Magnificent Obsession. History and Current Events November 2014 newsletter.

ChristchurchLib Dec 04, 2014

Queen Victoria inherited a crown that had been thoroughly tarnished by her predecessors' incompetence and immorality, but by the time of her death 64 years later, the monarchy was almost universally adored. Author Paul Murphy believes that seven attempts to assassinate Victoria boosted the queen's popularity with her subjects and helped her to strengthen the monarchy. Shooting Victoria focuses on the men who tried to kill her, their motives, and their convictions and punishments. It also details changes in criminal law and police administration while describing Victoria's relationships with her prime ministers. This intriguing approach to Victoria's life and times (a New York Times Notable Book for 2012) will please readers who enjoyed Helen Rappaport's A Magnificent Obsession. History and Current Events November 2014 newsletter.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at TSCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top